A Moment   2 comments

I haven’t had much time over the past few weeks to post anything. I’m nearing the end of the summer semester, so I’ve been busy finishing up a monster of a project and working two jobs. Every few days I come up for air and browse the Internet for a few minutes to see what’s going on (and mostly to feel normal). The terrorist attack in Norway on July 22nd that killed 90 people and probably injured many more reminds me of 2 things.

1) Even though I think my class project is all consuming and the most important thing ever, the world still turns.

2) There are far larger problems out there than my stupid project.

Here’s a poignant photograph taken by Tommy Ellingsen for a Norwegian newspaper of Jens Stoltenberg embracing the leader of the AUF camp where so many people died. You can find more images and an article at that link too (good luck reading Norwegian).

This photo helps me realize that everything in my world is going pretty well, and I’m going to be fine. My project is going to get done. I’m sleeping well at night. I have great friends and family to talk to. Yep, things are okay.

~C

2 responses to “A Moment

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Christie, yep perspective. If more people remembered to take that moment for air, I’m sure they’d feel happier in themselves, realizing how lucky they are compared to so many in dire need. Thanks for reminding me πŸ™‚

  2. It’s so common for people to say “ignorance is bliss”, but perspective and acceptance is where humility and gratitude, the true bliss, can be found. Thank you for this reminder that it’s only when we pull our heads out of “the sand” that we can actually appreciate what we have and take stock of the small things that make us happy.

Spit it out...

