First Day   Leave a comment

Hi all,

I’m an Aussie living in Knoxville, TN. I’m a public relations graduate student at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. I’m starting this blog for one of my classes – Advertising 490: A special topics discussion class, focusing on social media. Other than creating and maintaining a blog, I want this class to help me develop a more thorough understanding of the uses of social media as it impacts the public relations management of publics.

Some back story: I initially came to UT to compete in track and field – pole vaulting specifically. After undergrad I worked in cable TV production at Jupiter Entertainment for several years.  In 2010, I decided to go back to uni and study public relations. I’m one semester down with one year to go, and I’m loving it!

My future career interests are in the alternative energy communications sector. I feel there is a critical need to promote awareness of, and utilize cleaner energy systems at both the macro and micro levels. I want to help make cleaner, green energy a reality for the entire world. And I want to do that by focusing on work done locally in Knoxville.

I also strongly believe in supporting local farmers markets and local energy projects such as the amazing UT Biofuels Initiative.

Career stuff aside, I’m interested in lots of other things. Through this blog, I’m hoping to talk about the home improvement projects I have going on (which seem to be never ending), quilts I’m making (not the type at your grandma’s house), estate sales I pick through, my dog Arri, and anything else that piques my interest. I’ve always wanted to start a blog, so I intend to keep it going after this class is over.

~C

Posted January 13, 2011 by Elfawin in Random

Spit it out...

